10X10 booth, pipes and curtained, estimated attendance 12,000.
Here's the math, focusing just on Sound Waves:
Each copy of Sound Waves: roughly $2 to print each.
Sell for: $3.
Number of issues available by the time the expo rolls around: 4
So, assuming I clear a dollar for each book, $1350 / 4 = 337 modulus 2.
So, I would have to sell AT LEAST 338 complete sets to break even.
So, the math looks like this:
$1,350 for the table
+ $2,704 to print up 1,352 books (minimum)
$4,054 initial minimum outlay.
No fucking way I can afford this. We're talking the equivalent of a used car here. I'm getting my debts paid off, and have eliminated three in the past year alone. I don't want to throw myself down the rabbit hole again. It'd be different if I knew for sure this would pay off, but I don't.
I'm thinking the best thing I can do is, if I really want to target a show like this, to wait until the next year. That way, I can plan and budget properly instead of going up to my ass in debt for something that might not bear fruit. It might also enable me to increase the print run, maybe even enough to go with a printer that offers a quantity discount and reduce my cost outlay further.
But for now? Forget it.